Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.

This coverage is made possible by a grant from The Saint Paul Foundation.

St. Paul election slate is set: four for mayor, seven for District 1 council seat

Five candidates are running for three school board seats.

The lineup is set for the Nov. 5 St. Paul election, with three candidates vying to oust Mayor Chris Coleman and seven running for the open city council seat in District 1.

Five candidates are running for three school board seats.

Candidates do have until Thursday to withdraw.

In the mayor’s race, Mayor Chris Coleman has the DFL endorsement and is looking at another easy run as he seeks a third four-year term in office. Challenging him are two political rookies and one perennial candidate:

  • Sharon Anderson, who’s run for some office or another in nearly ever election since the 1970s.
  • Tim Holden, a landlord unhappy about light rail and the Lowertown ballpark.
  • Kurt “Dirty Kurty” Dornfeld, a city streets worker who’s campaigning for better city streets.

In District 1, where Melvin Carter III stepped down this summer, and Nathaniel Khaliq is filling in until the election, seven candidates have filed. No one received the DFL endorsement, which would have gone a long ways in securing a win. The field includes:

  • Dai Thao, an IT manager who’s worked on progressive causes.
  • Paul Holmgren, who once ran for the state House; he has city Republican endorsement but is not the NHL player who’s a St. Paul native.
  • Johnny Howard, activist running with Green Party endorsement.
  • Kazoua Kong-Thao, former St. Paul School Board member.
  • Debbie Montgomery, former one-term city council member; retired police officer.
  • Noel Nix, activist who was aide to Carter III.
  • Mark Voerding, former aide to former District 1 Council Member Bill Wilson; now an aide to County Commissioner Janice Rettman.

In the school board race, two incumbents and three others are seeking the three seats up for election. Incumbent Elona Street-Steward is not seeking reelection.

  • John Brodrick, incumbent with DFL endorsement.
  • Jean O’Connell, incumbent with DFL endorsement.
  • Terrance Bushard, who ran for city council in 2007.
  • Greg Copeland, chair of St. Paul Republican City Committee.
  • Chue Vue, attorney and former chair of the Hmong American Partnership, has DFL endorsement.