2011 Ten Outstanding Young Minnesotans honored at awards celebration

2011 Ten Outstanding Young Minnesotan award winners
Photo by Ian Aizman
2011 Ten Outstanding Young Minnesotan award winners

On Saturday, Dec. 3, 2011, the Minnesota Jaycees hosted an awards banquet at Earle Brown Heritage Center in Brooklyn Center to honor the 2011 Ten Outstanding Young Minnesotans (TOYM) and three Outstanding Young Farmer (OYF) finalists.

Over 100 special guests braved the evening’s formidable snow storm and icy roads in order to honor 14 young leaders who are making a difference in the community through volunteer work, civic engagement, entrepreneurship, educational service, government service and sustainable farming.

Attendees were welcomed by Jason Benton, current Minnesota Jaycee’s state president; Trisha Reinwald, Minnesota Jaycees executive director; and Travis Ahlquist, U.S. National Jaycees president-elect.

MinnPost ― a first-time media partner of the TOYM/OYF program ― was proud to recognize the achievements of this year’s exceptional young leaders alongside the Minnesota Jaycees.

Joining in the festivities were MinnPost’s Young Professionals Network coordinator, Audra Otto; MinnPost CFO, Laurie Kramer; and MinnPost CEO Joel Kramer, who delivered a congratulatory speech at the VIP reception prior to the awards program.

You can also learn about all our free newsletter options.

Comments (1)

  1. Submitted by Jeremy Powers on 12/17/2011 - 11:36 am.

    Thanks for being a media partner, but it would have been nice if you listed their names without having to click through to the Jaycees site. And a identifying caption would help me put a name to the faces.

Leave a Reply