Skip to Content

Support MinnPost

About Us

Our Mission

MinnPost is a nonprofit, nonpartisan enterprise whose mission is to provide high-quality journalism for people who care about Minnesota. We publish online at Monday through Friday with a limited edition on Saturday and a Sunday Review.

MinnPost provides news and analysis based on reporting by professional journalists, many of whom have decades of experience in the Twin Cities media. The site features video as well as written stories. MinnPost adheres to the Society of Professional Journalists' Code of Ethics.

The site also includes commentary pieces from the community, and comments from readers on individual stories. MinnPost does not endorse candidates for office or publish unsigned editorials representing an institutional position. We encourage broad-ranging, civil discussion from many points of view.
Our goal is to create a sustainable business model for this kind of journalism, supported by corporate sponsors, advertisers, and members who make annual donations. High-quality journalism is a community asset that sustains democracy and quality of life, and we need people who believe in it to support our work.

As of December 2016, MinnPost had more than 2,700 member-donor households contributing amounts ranging from $10 to more than $20,000 a year. Almost half of our donors are sustaining members. Sustaining members include all those who sign up for automatically recurring donations, as well as loyal supporters who have made a donation for three or more years in a row.

Our Major Funders

MinnPost's initial funding of $850,000 came from four families: John and Sage Cowles, Lee Lynch and Terry Saario, Joel and Laurie Kramer, and David and Vicki Cox.

Major foundation support has come from the Blandin Foundation, Otto Bremer Foundation, Bush Foundation, Carolyn Foundation, Central Corridor Funders Collaborative, Ethics and Excellence in Journalism Foundation, The Joyce Foundation, John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, Martin and Brown Foundation, The McKnight Foundation, The Minneapolis Foundation, Northwest Area Foundation, Pohlad Family Foundation, and The Saint Paul Foundation.

Currently, five foundations provide support of $50,000 a year or more:   The McKnight Foundation (general operating), Bush Foundation (education coverage), The Joyce Foundation (effective democracy,  environment, and gun violence prevention), and the Blandin Foundation (rural coverage).

We are grateful for the guidance and involvement of our Board of Directors and Advisory Council members listed below.

Board of Directors: Jack Dempsey, Chair; Lee Lynch, Chair Emeritus; John Satorius, Secretary; Jennifer Martin, Treasurer; Mark Abeln, Carla Blumberg, Tasha Byers, Fran Davis, Fred de Sam Lazaro, Nancy Feldman, Jill Field, Kathleen Hansen, Vernae Hasbargen, Rachael Jarosh, Kim Kieves, Barbara Klaas, Becky Klevan, Ed Kohler, Joel Kramer, Jane Mauer, Bill McKinney, Robert Metcalf, Max Musicant, Dan Oberdorfer, Kandace Olsen, Jeremy Edes Pierotti, Susan Plimpton, Amy Radermacher, Gordon Rudd, Rebecca Shavlik, Nancy Speer, Chelle Stoner, John Tieszen, Stephen Usery. Emeritus: David Cox.

Advisory Council: Terri Barreiro, Peter Bell, Wendy Blackshaw, Laura Bloomberg, Scott Burns, Lauren Collins, Jay Cowles, Toby Dayton, Samuel Heins, Sue Herridge, Marlene Kayser, Tom Kayser, Lars Leafblad, Kathy Longo, Glenn Miller, David Moore Jr., Mike Moore, Beth Parkhill, Mary Pickard, David Plimpton, Kim Snyder, Missy Staples Thompson, Kari Swan, Chris Widdess.

MinnPost Board Of Directors 2017 with affiliations [PDF] 

MinnPost Staff  Contact Us  |  Become a Member