This content is made possible in part by the generous sponsorship support of The University of Minnesota.

SAGE dance award winners named at gala event

The SAGE Awards for Dance were presented Tuesday night at the Southern Theater.

Our story Friday listed the nominees. And now, the winners:

Outstanding Dance Educator

Becky Stanchfield

Special Citation

Patrick Scully

Outstanding Performance

Francis Kofi and Hayor Bibimma for Anyendo Hwendo “Rainbow Spirit”

Ranee Ramaswamy and Aparna Ramaswamy for “Ihrah: Sacred Water”

Uri Sands for “Earth”

Outstanding Ensemble:

Zenon Dance Company for performances in Fall Concert, Spring Concert and the opera “Orpheus and Eurydice”

Outstanding Design

Paul Herwig — Set design for “The Jury”

Deborah Jinza Thayer (Mathew Smith, music; Lisa Axell/Laura Adams, costumes; Jeff Bartlett, lighting; Deirdre Murnane, puppetry; Brian Axell, set) — Concept and production design for “Ode to Dolly”

Outstanding Performer

Rachel Barnes — “Femme de la Swashbuckle Box”; “Ode to Dolly”; “Dougieland”

Brian Evans — “Just One More”; “In Between-Between Places”; “Love Triangle” (from “The Jury”); “Abandon Me”; “A Word With You Dear”; “Tales From the Book of Longing”

Penelope Freeh — “We’ll Survive if We Don’t Protect Ourselves”; “Tributes”; “Ballet Works Project”; “Ode to Dolly: The Sheep”; “Inter Alia”; “Moving Works”

You can also learn about all our free newsletter options.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply