Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.

This content is made possible in part by the generous sponsorship support of The University of Minnesota.

National Book Award 2010 nominees: one big surprise

No Jonathan Franzen? That seems to be the first reaction throughout the book world. The National Book Award finalists were announced this morning at the Savannah, Ga., childhood home of Flannery O’Connor, and there was no mention of Franzen’s best-selling novel “Freedom.”

But there was a fiction nomination for Peter Carey’s “Parrot and Olivier in America” (which failed Tuesday night to snag a Man Booker Prize) and also two nonfiction nominations for Los Angeles Times staffers (Barbara Demick, author of “Nothing to Envy: Ordinary Lives in North Korea,” is the paper’s Beijing bureau chief and Megan K. Stack, author of “Every Man in This Village Is a Liar: An Education in War,” is the Moscow bureau chief.)

Last year’s National Book Award winners included Colum McCann in fiction for “Let the Great World Spin,”, T. J. Stiles in nonfiction for “The First Tycoon: The Epic Life of Cornelius Vanderbilt,” Keith Waldrop in poetry for “Transcendental Studies: A Trilogy,” and Phillip Hoose in young people’s literature for “Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice.”

The 2010 National Book Award winners will be announced at a ceremony in New York on Nov. 17.

Here’s the complete list of finalists:

Peter Carey, “Parrot and Olivier in America
Jaimy Gordon,”Lord of Misrule”
Nicole Krauss, “Great House”
Lionel Shriver, “So Much for That”
Karen Tei Yamashita, “I Hotel”

Barbara Demick, “Nothing to Envy: Ordinary Lives in North Korea
John W. Dower, “Cultures of War: Pearl Harbor, Hiroshima, 9-11, Iraq”
Patti Smith, “Just Kids
Justin Spring, “Secret Historian: The Life and Times of Samuel Steward”
Megan K. Stack, “Every Man in This Village Is a Liar: An Education in War

Kathleen Graber, “The Eternal City”
Terrance Hayes, “Lighthead”
James Richardson, “By the Numbers”
C.D. Wright, “One With Others”
Monica Youn, “Ignatz”

Young People’s Literature:
Paolo Bacigalupi, “Ship Breaker”
Kathryn Erskine, “Mockingbird”
Laura McNeal, “Dark Water”
Walter Dean Myers, “Lockdown”
Rita Williams-Garcia, “One Crazy Summer

Marjorie Kehe is the Monitor’s book editor.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply