Nonprofit, nonpartisan journalism. Supported by readers.


Six candidates in the race for Rep. Dill’s northern Minnesota House seat

There will be a primary on Sept. 29 and then the Dec. 8 special election to replace Dill, who died last month.

A special election to replace state Rep. David Dill in House District 3A has drawn six candidates.

Dill, a DFLer, died last month. A primary is scheduled for Sept. 29, with the special election to be held Dec. 8.

Four of the candidates filed for the seat as DFLers, although one of those, Eric Johnson of International Falls, ran as a Republican last year against Dill for the House seat and lost by a 66-34 margin.

The three other DFLers in the race are Ely City Council Member Heidi Omerza, Koochiching County Commissioner Rob Ecklund and environmental activist Bill Hansen of Tofte.

Article continues after advertisement

Filing as a Republican was Roger Skraba, a former Ely mayor. Skraba has run for the seat in the past as a DFLer and an Independence Party member in the past, says Aaron Brown.

And Kelsey Johnson filed as an independent, submitting 600 names on a petition. The secretary of state’s office lists her filing as “pending petition review.”